Posted by: D.A.S. Chicago | May 5, 2011

Drop-In!

The Second City Chicago

With over 50 years of experience, The Second City Training Center remains the largest school of improvisation and sketch comedy in the world. It is well known for training stars such as Bill Murray, Mike Myers, Tina Fey, Steve Carell, John Belushi and so many more right here in the heart of Chicago! The Second City offers variety of courses from acting to stand-up to writing and directing, even musical improv.

Alumni's of The Second City

When I heard that The Second City offers Drop-In Improv classes, I couldn’t resist to go see for myself. The Drop-In class is exactly what it sounds like. You don’t have to register to take the Drop-In class. You simply just show up on time for the class. The Drop-In class is open to all levels of improvisers- from those who have never improvised in their life to those doing it for a living.You can either observe a class or participate and it’s a great opportunity to practice, relax and meet new people.

When I visited The Second City, I wasn’t sure what to expect. I was just amazed and thrilled that I was in the same program that Steve Carell once was a part of and probably in the same room that he studied! I came with an open mind, ready to learn and have fun! The building was enormous, I even got lost on my way to the bathroom.  The class was small, it consisted of twelve students, including myself. To start off the class, we played a game of birth.  The rule of the game was to line up in order of birth, by month and day without talking. The most interesting part about it was that the class just started and we didn’t even know each others names so we definitely didn’t know the order of birthdays but surprisingly we got the order right.  The other warm-up game was to line up in order of height but with our eyes closed, we got that order right also.  The energy in the room was incredible. Everyone was really friendly, open and honest.

The Second City

I had a tremendous experience at The Second City! In only two hours, I became friends  with twelve awesome people! Although from different backgrounds and occupations, we all wanted to have fun. We were all willing to try things out of the ordinary, such as staring at someone for a minute without breaking focus, and that made my experience even more enjoyable. Although we all just met, there was a level of trust already built.  Within the duration of the class, I felt connected to the people who were totally strangers at first.

My night was full of laughs and delights.  Although it was finals week and I had a lot to get done by the end of the semester, I took the time out to get refreshed.  I was burned out by the last week of school and I couldn’t wait to get the semester over with. I was tired of studying and I hated to look at books at that point so I decided to take a day off and clear my mind of school.

The Second City Improv class did just that for me. All the while I was in the class, I totally forgot that I had a final to take the next day. I was freed from the tension I held on to before the class started and when I got home, I was energized and ready to tackle whatever came my way.  That’s the escape that I got from improv. Matt, my instructor said something that stuck with me: “no matter what your occupation is, improv is helpful in life”. This can be translated in so many ways. It is only normal that we get stressed at some point. It’s a part of life that we cannot avoid. The best way to deal with stress is to recognize  it and step away from it. Hours of improv with amazing people did just that for me. It didn’t take my exams for me or guarentee me an A,  but it was a quick escape from my reality.  It gave me a chance to re-fuel and it could possibly do the same for you also.

The Second City Drop-In class is on Sundays from 6pm-8pm for only $15. During the summer, there will be an additional class on Wednesdays from 10pm-midnight.  For more information, visit secondcity.com

Leave a Reply

Categories

