Posted by: D.A.S. Chicago | June 13, 2011



1. “So Glorious” (Prod. by Smiff & Cash)
2. “That’s Life II” (Prod. by Smiff & Cash)
3. “Ric Flair” (Prod. by Sweatbox Productions)
4. “Ready Set Go” (Feat. T.I.) (Prod. No I.D.)
5.  “Burn” (Prod. by Sweatbox Productions)
6. “Go Out On The Town” (Feat. Young Jeezy) (Raz for Beat Billionaire / Grand Hustle Productions)
7. “God In The Building II” (Prod. by The Beat Bullies)
8. “Players Lullaby” (Feat. Twista & Rock D The Legend) (Prod. by The Bizness)
9. “Animal” (Feat. Gucci Mane) (Prod. by Zone Beats)
10. “American Dream” Big Meech (Prod. by Sweatbox Productions)
11. “Everything (Hold You Down)” (Prod. by Sweatbox Productions
12. “Follow Your Dreams” (Prod. by DJ Speedy)
13. “Swimming” (Feat. Rock D The Legend) (Prod. by Flying Lotus)
14. “Ready Set Go” Remix (Feat. T.I. and Big Boi) (Prod. by No I.D. )

The New Killer Mike album “ PL3DGE”, is something that not only brings music together but also handles reality as well. The first song that you hear, “So Glorious”, you start to hear cohesion of what seems to be a sample infused with voices mixed with pure emotion.  The production for this album is a very well done piece of work; many of the songs on the album could be considered singles just by that alone. Other songs that may catch your attention are “God in the Building II”, which is produced by the Beat Bullies and “American Dream” Big Meech, produced by Sweatbox productions. 

The main single of the album that was the first feature, “Ready, Set, Go” featuring T.I, has a very nice sample but doesn’t measure up to the songs that were previously stated. Killer Mike presents real thoughts and emotions in this song as he discusses guys who have bigger bark than their bite, also to recognize what is real from the fake.  T.I puts his voice and his bravado on the track to give the song its extra edge.

Other songs seem to be just album fillers, songs like “Players Lullaby” and “Ain’t No Mountain High Enough”, do not seem to grab the listener’s attention like many of the other tracks do on the album. As Stated before, the “American Dream” is a song that brings the listener into some thought, not just a regular song talking about whips and cars but some of the history of America. “American Dream” is a song that not only motivates listeners but it makes them step back, scratch their head and think, “Wow”.

Killer Mike album, “PL3DGE” is an underrated album that is steady looked over for the other popular artists that are on the radio. The thing is, this album is way better than most artists that are on the radio. Most people were unaware of Killer Mike, but with this latest installment, he has opened a new wave of supporters. Many people that have heard the album believe that this is the best thing to come out of the South since Big Boi’s latest installment.  So for all you true hip hop heads, definitely give this album a listen, you will be pleasantly surprised and your ears will thank you for it.

For more informationon the album and Killer Mike, please follow him on Twitter: and check out

– Jelani Whitehorne


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: